Collars

I was curious, after the post on Angel’s blog about being able to make it through an entire meeting on the flat collar (yayyyy!!!!), what you guys prefer as far as collars go? With Artu, it took me a while to get him a training collar, but very soon after that he was given a Halti. I really don’t like headcollars in general, but some dogs just need ’em.

When I get a dog, I’ll always start them out on their flat collar, but have their training collar around their neck, and head collar in my pocket. (if they have a head collar) I apply the idea of “innocent until proven guilty” to end up being something like “flat until proving the need for a halti”.

So anyway, this is an interactive post…what do you prefer? There’s no “right” answer, just preferences:

 The Flat

 The Training

 Or the head collar????

14 Responses

  1. With GEB we don’t ( in most cases) use training collars or head collars on our dogs at this point. We did in the past ( like last yearish) and probably will do so again in the future. In my opinion I think that dogs should start on flat collars and got to training collar if needed but the person needs to be taught the proper way to use it first! I also feel that the head collar especially just cover up problems instead of fixing them but this is just my opinion.

  2. It depends on the dog! My ultimate goal with all my pups has been to send them back working in a flat collar. I put a headcollar on all my pups, whether they need one or not, just to give them the experience before they go back for training. I don’t like to use the training collars unless I have to.

  3. It depends on the dog, the time, and the place! I have kept my puppies on flat until about 6 or 7 months I think, and with Cordova I used the training collar. Then I moved to the Gentle Leader, worked that for a few months, then worked back to the flat. With Suede, I only use her Halti at school, and flat everywhere else.

  4. For some reason my computer only submitted half my post. I was going to say that the head collars are good with proper use and are good in different or highly distracting areas. I had Mork in a head collar even though he didn’t need one. i believe that every dog and every raiser is different so not all training methods work the same or have the same result so I guess it depends.

  5. I always start out with just the flat collar, but begin introducing the halti/head collar around 4-6 months old. Since our school trains hearing, seizure, and special skills dogs (which often work on a head collar since their partners may not have a lot of upper body strength) in addition to guide dogs, I feel it is important that all my puppies are accustomed to the head collar. I tend to alternate halti and flat throughout the year so that they are comfortable on both when they enter training.
    Our school doesn’t currently use the training collars with puppies, although I have occasionally used a martingale with pups that responded well to it.

  6. My personal preference is a flat collor for my pet dogs and puppies in training. If needed, I would prefer a training collar for a stubborn or distracted dog, as it gives more of a “I mean it” (I.e. Iverson was in a training collar nearly his entire time, just because he was too smart though and got bored easily *wink*) and I like head collars for dogs that are dominant or under confident. To me, it imitates the mom grabbing the pups face with they are little to reassure or correct them. My pet dog, Zucco, is having dominance issues right now, so he’s in a head collar any time he is on a leash. Mainly so I can have more control of him and since I’m afraid to correct my dogs, since they are so little and both breeds have known issues with their throats! Just my 2 cents though!

  7. I like to use all three, it just depends on the situation and the dog. Sterling responds well to a flat collar, but because he sometimes coughs (and GDB worries about soft trachea) we are very slowly introducing the Halti. Both Hugo and Marley will work on a flat collar, or a head collar. Lately I have been working Marley on a training collar because he sometimes needs a little bit harder corrections.
    My smallest pup, Dante, is in a harness. Like Coreena said, small dogs do have problems with collapsing trachea, and there are no head collars out there that fit a 6lb dog!
    So really it is situation and dog dependent for me, with the ultimate goal of having them work on a flat collar, but be ok with other devices.

  8. I have only ever used the flat collar and the head collar… my club rarely uses the training collars and I have had good success with the others, so haven’t had the urge to try it. I have been able to transition all my pups to the flat collar before recall, but even when I have done that I still use the head collar once in a while, either because a particular situation warrants it or just to make sure they will still work nicely in it since I know they will use them some in formal training. I like that the head collar allows me to not “nag” at the puppy and I can just show them the correct behavior. With my pet dog, I mainly used a head collar over the years, but since her neck surgery a year ago I have only been allowed to use a harness… definitely interesting with a 75 pound prey driven dog! Not recommended, that’s for sure!

  9. CCI puppies are started on Gentle Leaders(Head collars) at the age of 8 weeks. We use these any time in a public setting. CCI will have you use a training collar if the dog needs it.

  10. I like them all! Mostly, I use flat, because it is good for corrections, where with a headcollar you can’t really correct. I definitely love the headcollar too, though! It’s especially great when you have a 75 pound stubborn male. 😉 Haven’t really worked with the training collar much, though I’ve seen dogs be really responsive to it.

  11. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWith GEB we don’t ( in most cases) use training collars or head collars on our dogs at this point. We did in the past ( like last yearish) and probably will do so again in the future. In my opinion I think that dogs should start on flat … […]

  12. […] My Little Corner wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI like them all! Mostly, I use flat, because it is good for corrections, where with a headcollar you can’t really correct. I definitely love the headcollar too, though! It’s especially great when you have a 75 pound stubborn male. … […]

  13. […] lisaengel wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptCCI puppies are started on Gentle Leaders(Head collars) at the age of 8 weeks. We use these any time in a public setting. CCI will have you use a training collar if the dog needs it. […]

  14. Thank you for good information~~*

    Please comeback to visit my blog too : http://about-dogcollars.blogspot.com/

    I’m sorry , If you think this is spam. but may i thank you again.

    Bye

Leave a Reply

