What to know when your puppy goes to the sitter’s…

Well like the topic says, here are some things to know/keep in mind for when your lovely puppy-in-training goes to visit the puppy-sitter. I know it’s been a while since some of you have been full-fledged sitters so here it goes. πŸ™‚

  1. We LOVE puppies! No joke! Some times it might seem like the puppy-sitter is harsh on their report, but we really do love your dog.
  2. Don’t be afraid to check-in with the sitter. I’ll have people leave for 3 weeks and never call or e-mail to see how their puppy is doing. Makes me wonder….
  3. Be HONEST about faults!!! There’s nothing worse than being told a dog is fine, and then getting him/her for 2+ weeks and finding out a ton of little (or big!) problems. I’d much rather know what to expect going into it. I’m not going to say “no” just beacuse your dog has faults…mine all did. No dog is perfect.
  4. If possible, spend some time with the sitter. It’s great if the dog can get used to a house with you there so that when you leave, there isn’t as much separation anxiety because the dog and handler already love eachother. πŸ˜€
  5. Ask ahead of time (way ahead of time) what the sitter needs. Best to do this when they first agree to take the puppy, that way if they forget something they can add it to the list before the “day of”.
  6. If the sitter doesn’t tell you, ask if the puppy will be encountering any unusal settings. For instance, with Fantine coming, I warned her raiser that she will have to be able to relieve reliably on cement since I work in a place without grass or dirt.
  7. Be sure to let the sitter know the puppy’s limitations. If a dog can’t handle going into big cities, even though he/she is 9 months old, let the sitter know.
  8. A well-groomed dog is a sitter’s best friend. πŸ˜€ Forget the shedding because labs just DO that, but havingΒ a bathed, tooth brushed, ear cleaned, nail clipped dog is so much nicer than one who needs a lot of work.
  9. If it’s a shorter amount of time (like a week or so) pre-proportion the food. It’s so much easier than having to measure out the food when you’re not used to it. I’ve caught myself measuring out the wrong amount since I’m not used to doing it…
  10. Relax! Your puppy sitter is (most likely) well-trained and shouldΒ  call you if they have any problems or questions. Especially if it’s a past raiser, they know what to do and what it’s like to send your baby off to the sitter’s, so they’ll be great!

And here’s a list of things that I like to have when a puppy comes over…it’s not a full list of what everyone wants πŸ˜€ .

  • Jacket (clean is always fantastic!!)
  • all collars (training and head collar)
  • crates (one for the house and one for the car if you use it)
  • bed (if the puppy sleeps on one)
  • one toy–chances are the puppy will play with my toys because they’re new, but it’s nice to have one favorite from home
  • food
  • tie-downs (I have one from raising other pups, but it’s nice to have more than one in the house!)
  • Heartguard (if needed)
  • toothbrush/paste (if it’s over a week)
  • vet info
  • relieving schedule
  • contact numbers that you can actually be reached at (I’ve had people give me numbers that they only checked once a week!)

Hopefully that’s a good list. πŸ˜€ Comment your other ideas…

Oh, and since I’ll probably never puppy-sit for any of you I can say this ( πŸ™‚ ) but it’s always nice when someone gives us a thank you note or little gift. Puppy-sitting is a lot of work (especially when you’re not used to a dog!) so notes and gifts are always a great way to know you’re appreciated!

I think the most important is to just be honest with the sitter about your dog’s problems when you ask them to sit for you.

I’ll add anything if I can think of it.

5 Responses

  1. YOU WANT A CRATE? hehe…wow, I’d think I’d die if I had to take a crate to everyone my dog was puppy sat by. Then again, I have three crates so I don’t have a need for one when I puppy-sit puppies.

  2. Thanks for the honest advice. One of my guys is headed to a sitter’s house this week, so the timing was especially appropriate! πŸ™‚

  3. Ha ha, Anna. Yeah we only have one crate and that goes in my room if the dog needs to sleep in a crate. Then we usually need one for the car (if the puppy is crated in the car) and then if the dog does sleep in a crate, another one for the family room. My dogs slept on beds and rode on a mat in the car, so we only needed one crate–and I had to buy all my supplies. πŸ˜€

  4. Ah πŸ™‚ Yeah, I’ve had to buy all my supplies too, but I bought a small puppy crate and a large and was able to get a giant for a couple bucks! If you get to puppy sit Lynn, one crate should do anyways, since she’s great in the house and car, and sleeps loose in my room at night! And yay for puppy-sitting CLEAN puppies with CLEAN puppy coats. Too bad that’s not the case most of the time!

  5. Yep I have puppy-sat some nappy looking dogs with nasty puppy coats that I have to wash, and then bath the dog. So, I made sure my pups are freshely bathed, brushed, clipped and all of the above before sending them to the puppy sitters and I make sure the puppy coat is clean. Thanks for the list, it is very helpful in preparing my pups for the puppy-sitters. And I agree I have had a few people give me thank you card and little gifts or cookies when I puppy-sit and I love it. I try to when people puppy-sit for me but I forget. 😦 . . . I will do better though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

