Pre-Graduation jitters

Well…the graduation is tomorrow. 😀 I know I’m going to get 5 thousand comments saying “everything will be fine” but here’s what I’m thinking/worrying about…

  • I was supposed to call Lawrence’s partner last night at about 5. Things happened and I didn’t get a chance to call until later, and he was busy. I was supposed to call at 2. The girl replacing me at work didn’t get there till 2:30, so I couldn’t call till 3. Then I get an e-mail saying that he couldn’t talk to me until 5 anyway. I feel like such a flake. I hope he doesn’t think I don’t care, cause I do, I am just a very hard person to get a hold of by phone. 🙂
  • My camera. It’s stupid. sometimes the flash doesn’t work. sometimes it does. So I might have to have my dad use his camera which isn’t as good as mine, but hey…it’s pictures.
  • I have to straighten my hair tonight, but I might be baby-sitting last minute
  • I finished the scrapbook, but I wanted to get pictures before I gave it to him, and the whole stupid camera thing……
  • Of course there’s the things about saying something totatlly stupid, or forgetting what I was going to say on stage.
  • And especially with being the starter raiser, I don’t want to take away from Whitney’s experience at all, so I’ll have to be really careful. But at the same time, honestly, I’m a tad bit jealous, because I could have finished Lawrence off myself if he hadn’t been promised to her. So I wouldn’t have had to be so careful
  • A million little things are buzzing through my head like if I’ll be able to get a picture or 2 of Lester for Kushal, how the whole 2 graduates thing will work for our club, cause I don’t think we’ve ever had 2 graduate at the same time, and if I’ll be able to get good pictures. The guy lives far away. I definitely will need good pictures.
  • Plus there’s the whole thing about will he keep in touch with me? I’d love that more than anything, but my experience with Arturo has taught me to expect the worst.

*sigh* there’s my little rant. Obviously I’m a little nervous, but at the same time I’m so excited, I’m kind of forgetting to be nervous. We’ll see……Definitely let me know if any of you will be at the graduation tomorrow….I’d love to say hi! You’ll know who I am, but I won’t know who you are 🙂

Oh, and I love these polls, so here’s another one! And since I can’t see who voted what, if you could comment with your answer, that would be fantasmagorical

9 Responses

  1. Ahhh good luck tomorrow! I’m sure it’s completely normal to be nervous, and I’m sure you’ll do fine. 🙂

  2. My second was my graduate. She was a transfer dog, but was almost perfect when I got her, and was perfect when she left for training….well her house behavior could have been much better. She graduated very quickly, after just 5 months in training (one of those months was the actual In Class time). I am probably not the best example of having a graduate.

    Calliope’s new partner isn’t too good at keeping in touch. She will write back if I write, but hasn’t ever reached out on her own. Graduation was awkward, and I didn’t feel a connection with her at all. It is sad, but I am glad she was a transfer because I wasn’t as attached to her as my two raised-from-the-start puppies.

    Good luck with your graduation! I am sure it will go well!

  3. Have a great time tomorrow! A pup from our club (Viking) is also graduating. His raisers are on a plane right now headed that way! Have a great time… everything will work out perfectly I’m sure!

  4. I wasn’t sure if I should count mine as 2, 3, or 4 graduates – so I put 3. I’ve had two of ‘my’ pups graduate, as well one transfer puppy (I count him as half a grad as I only had him for a very short time right before his recall – he actually graduated at the same time as one of my other dogs, so I’ve only had two official ‘graduations’). I also have one breeder dog, but we don’t get to attend a ceremony for that at our school.

    I always get nervous before grad too, but they have been some of the best times of my life. My only advice is enjoy it, which I’m sure you will – and then be sure to tell us all about it!

  5. Anna, I know you are on the GDB list. Tom is as well. Honestly, he’s nutty! LOL, I mean that in a good way. 🙂 I think that the people on that list are way more likely to keep in touch with puppy raisers than others, so I think everything is going to be fine. 🙂 Have fun tomorrow!

  6. Graduation will be perfect! I marked on the poll that I’ve had one graduate, which is KIND OF true. 😉 I can see how it may be a tad bid awkward because you only had Lawrence at the very start, but starter raisers definitely play an important part in a puppy’s success. Good luck. I can’t wait to hear all about it.

  7. My first was my graduate – can’t wait to hear all about grad!!!

  8. I hope all went well! I wish I could have been there! I voted for one, since only Iverson graduated!

  9. Hope you had fun yesterday at grad! I can’t wait to hear all about it! And I think ‘None’ needs to be an option on your poll, sadly. 😦

Leave a Reply

