I think I’m crazy

Sooooooo…. After Pomona, my parents told me “NO MORE STARTER PUPPIES”!!!!!! And I wholeheartedly agreed. And after my experience with Lawrence’s grad, I decided I was done with the starter pups. Besides. I’m in community college for my senior year, and I can’t take a baby to school with me. So it’s impossible. So long puppies.

Well since the title of this post is “I think I’m crazy” not “I’m really depressed because I don’t have a puppy” (which I am) you can gather that I’ve been re-thinking that. I found out that I have a break after finals. My last day of school will be the 5th of December, and I don’t go back until January 5th or something. So basically I have a whole month off……..hmmmm……

It was really hard with my other starters, because I worked so many hours, and walked 1 1/2 miles on a busy road to get there, so they were in a crate for 6 (1 hour for travel time, and an hour for prep, plus the 4-hour shifts) hours while I was at work. Not a good situation. However–the college students will be back and wanting to work that month. So I’ll have less shifts. And I have a car now, so I could drive a puppy to work where he could stay in the crate for way less time……hmmmmm……..

AND meetings were hard to make because my parents wanted to go to church Sunday nights, and that’s when our meetings are. But now that I have my license, I could drive to the meetings….HMMMMMMMMMMM………

And they always need starter raisers, especially in December….hmmmmmMMMM!!!!!!

Ok. So maybe I’m re-considering. Persuading my parents could still be a big issue. And trying to make sure that my CFR would promise to have the puppy transferred by the time I went back to school would be another hard thing. But let’s just say…….starter puppies are too much fun to not consider it anymore.

And I desperately miss having a puppy.

I just don’t think my parents will say yes…….

10 Responses

  1. You should start a pup for me! Haha, I have the same problem as you do with college and baby pups….I still have no idea what I am going to do if Sterling goes back during Spring semester….

    Good luck with getting a pup!

  2. Dude… He isn’t staying in touch with you? I am surprised and would be sad if I was in your shoes. I definitely want to keep in touch with whoever raises my potential guide dog. 🙂

  3. Anna, I def. understand the craving! I hope it all works out for you and you get some puppy breath soon!

  4. Hi Alyssa,

    Just wanted to clarify that Tom is great. I couldn’t have asked for a better match for Lawrence. It was the other raisers at the graduation that made it hard, since I was “just the starter raiser”. So when I mentioned that Lawrence’s Grad made me not want to do another starter puppy, I meant the ceremony–not the person 😀

  5. Ahh well, good luck considering this. You are so good for doing the starters! It might be a fun little month for you….:)

  6. That could be something fun to do over Christmas. Good luck convincing your parents 🙂 Let us know how that goes!

  7. Hope things work out! Why can’t you take your pups to school with you? Mine have come to my college..we did have to go through our disabilities coordinator but it was fine..

  8. Yay, I hope it works out for you. That would make Christmas break so much fun!! Puppy raising sure is addicting. And you are awesome for starting puppies for other people. It would be so hard to do. Good Luck!!

  9. Erin,

    I could take an older pup to school with me, but not a baby starter puppy which is, most likely, what I’d be working with. And I have too much to do once school starts up again, to raise and do school at the same time.

    I do take my puppysit-ees to school with me, though. 😀

  10. Good luck on that!!! :):):):):)

Leave a Reply

